Museum of History - banner

Circle of Giants


Circle of Giants News

This year the Circle of Giants will be honoring both St. Patrick Cathedral and Cathedral High School for the next Wall of Giants installation. St. Patrick Cathedral is celebrating its 100th anniversary and Cathedral High School is celebrating its 90th anniversary, The Giants Committee and the museum are excited to highlight the impact a small, young men’s Catholic school has had on our border community. Currently, Cathedral has four-hundred eighty students enrolled, and to-date has produced fifty-nine Gates Scholars. Several students have assisted in setting national records regarding the Gates Scholar awards: in 2014 there were ten recipients, in 2015 there were twelve, and there were fourteen in 2016. Cathedral prides itself as an academic institution with over 3,000 college credit hours accumulated every year since 2011 through their Early Acceptance program, and they boast a 100% college acceptance rate. 

Most recently, Cathedral’s Hunter Urrea was one of only nineteen students in the world, and the only Texas student, to receive the 2016 Hesburgh-Yusko Scholarship. Javier Escobar is El Paso’s only 2016 Coca-Cola Scholar. Cathedral has more than fifty athletic state championships in eight of ten sporting categories - swimming, tennis, golf, basketball, cross country, track & field, football, and soccer. 

Cathedral’s alumni base is vast with impactful contributions not only to El Paso, but to the State of Texas and the nation at large. A few notable alumni: Dr. Manny De La Rosa, Founding Dean to El Paso’s first and only medical school; Jose Joel Alicea, Harvard Law, Clerk for Justice Samuel Alito of the U.S. Supreme Court; Dr. John Petrozza, Assistance Professor at Harvard Medical School; Ronald Arajas, 2008 Olympian (Latvia); and numerous civic and local business leaders. The Circle of Giants Committee looks forward to highlighting these remarkable institutions and showcasing their accomplishments as we, as El Pasoans, celebrate their history. 

Circle of Giants Committee Members

Rebecca Whitaker, Co-Chair

David Saucedo, Co-Chair

Brother Nick Gonzalez

Jorge I. Angulo

Andrew Carpio

Alex Ganem

Claudia Martinez

Herb Price

Frank Rimkus

Bernie Sargent

Anthony M. Tomasheski

Rene A. Valenzuela

Thank you,

Rebecca and David

Rebecca Whitaker & David Saucedo
Circle of Giants Co-Chairs

Connect With Us